Curated for the Inquisitive Mind


Mohan Charan Majhi made new Chief Minister of Odisha

In a historic development, the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) has formed its maiden government in the state of Odisha. After a resounding victory in the 2024 Odisha Assembly elections, the party has appointed Mohan Charan Majhi as the new Chief Minister of Odisha. He becomes the 15th Chief minister of Odisha.

Swearing-in Ceremony on June 12

The announcement of Majhi’s appointment was made by Defence Minister Rajnath Singh on Tuesday in Bhubaneswar, the capital city of Odisha. Union Minister Bhupender Yadav attended the meeting as an observer. The swearing-in ceremony for the new Chief Minister and his cabinet is scheduled for June 12, marking a significant milestone for the BJP in the state.

BJP’s Resounding Victory

In the recently concluded Odisha Assembly elections, the BJP secured an impressive 78 out of 147 seats, paving the way for its first-ever government in the state. Mohan Charan Majhi, a tribal leader, emerged victorious in the Keonjhar Assembly constituency, securing 47.05% of the votes and defeating Minu Majhi of the Biju Janata Dal (BJD) by a substantial margin.

Deputy Chief Ministers Announced

Accompanying Majhi as Deputy Chief Ministers will be KV Singh Deo and Pravati Parida. Their appointments reflect the BJP’s commitment to inclusive governance and representation.

Invitation to Former Chief Minister

In a gesture of political goodwill, the BJP has extended an invitation to the outgoing Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik, who is also the president of the BJD, to attend the swearing-in ceremony. A delegation led by the BJP Odisha unit president, Manmohan Samal, personally visited Naveen Niwas to extend the invitation, which Patnaik graciously accepted.

Paying Respects to Lord Jagannath

In a touching display of reverence and tradition, the first invitation card for the swearing-in ceremony was presented to Lord Jagannath in Puri. Newly elected MLAs delivered the invitation at the 12th-century shrine, seeking blessings for the new administration.

As Odisha prepares to usher in a new era of governance under the BJP’s leadership, the people of the state eagerly anticipate the positive changes and development that the party has promised. With a strong mandate and a dedicated team, the Mohan Charan Majhi-led government is poised to write a new chapter in Odisha’s history.

Static GK:

  • Capital: Bhubaneswar;
  • Governor: Raghubar Das.


Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *